London Mathematical Society -- EPSRC Durham Symposium
Permutation Groups and Transformation Semigroups
Monday 20 July to Thursday 30 July 2015
Castle Keep

The LMS-EPSRC Durham Research Symposia began in 1974, and form an established series of international research meetings, with over 100 symposia to date. They provide an excellent opportunity to explore an area of research in depth, to learn of new developments, and to instigate links between different branches. The format is designed to allow substantial time for interaction and research. The meetings are held in July and August, usually lasting for 10 days, with up to 70 participants, roughly half of whom will come from the UK. Lectures and seminars take place in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, Durham University.

Generic Participants
Speakers include:
  • I Dolinka
  • J Hubicka
  • M Pinsker
  • C Rosendal
  • G Royle
  • B Steinberg
Prebends Bridge

This Symposium will explore the connections between several topics of high recent activity: homogeneous structures in model theory and their automorphism groups, and connections to topological dynamics, structural Ramsey theory, and constraint satisfaction; homomorphisms of relational structures, transformation semigroups, and synchronization; different approaches to random graph theory, through graphons and through exchangeable measures; and recent advances in computational algebra, with possible applications for transformation semigroups. The symposium will combine a series of short courses, stand-alone lectures, and time for discussion.

Note: The scientific programme will start on 21 July and end on 29 July.

Durham Univ Map
Travel Information

Useful information about travelling to Durham can be found on the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Durham University webpages.

Information Pack: can be found here.
Holgate House

Accommodation for participants will be in a Durham College. Guest rooms offer en-suite and wifi facilities. Attendance is by invitation only and fees for self-supporting participants are payable by cash, credit card, sterling cheques or sterling travellers cheques at registration.

Organising Committee: Peter Cameron (St Andrews), Dugald Macpherson (Leeds), James Mitchell (St Andrews).