London Mathematical Society -- EPSRC Durham Symposium
Building Bridges: Connections and Challenges in Modern Approaches to Numerical Partial Differential Equations
8 - 16 July 2014
Castle Keep

The LMS-EPSRC Durham Research Symposia began in 1974, and form an established series of international research meetings, with over 100 symposia to date. They provide an excellent opportunity to explore an area of research in depth, to learn of new developments, and to instigate links between different branches. The format is designed to allow substantial time for interaction and research. The meetings are held in July and August, usually lasting for 10 days, with up to 70 participants, roughly half of whom will come from the UK. Lectures and seminars take place in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, Durham University.

Generic Participants
Prebends Bridge

The Symposium is devoted to recent advances in numerical methods for PDEs using non-polynomial basis functions, mimetic finite difference methods and discontinuous Galerkin (dG) methods. Moreover, since recent works in these directions have highlighted unforeseen pairwise connections between them, a particular emphasis in this Symposium will be to explore further links and to exchange ideas and techniques between them.

The Scientific Programme will include 8 short courses of two lectures each given by leading experts in these fields, a number of selected talks by participants, and some structured discussion sessions. There will be an industrial afternoon, to which practitioners from the UK engineering and industry will be invited.

Durham Univ Map
Travel Information

Useful information about travelling to Durham can be found on the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Durham University webpages.

Holgate House

Accommodation for participants will be in a Durham College. Guest rooms offer en-suite and internet facilities. Attendance is by invitation only and fees for self-supporting participants are payable by cash, credit card, sterling cheques or sterling travellers cheques at registration.

Organising Committee: Gabriel R. Barrenechea (Strathclyde), Franco Brezzi (Pavia), Andrea Cangiani (Leicester), Emmanuil Georgoulis (Leicester).