London Mathematical Society -- EPSRC Durham Symposium
Geometric and Cohomological Group Theory
12 to 22 August 2013
Castle Keep

The LMS-EPSRC Durham Research Symposia began in 1974, and form an established series of international research meetings, with over 100 symposia to date. They provide an excellent opportunity to explore an area of research in depth, to learn of new developments, and to instigate links between different branches. The format is designed to allow substantial time for interaction and research. The meetings are held in July and August, usually lasting for 10 days, with up to 70 participants, roughly half of whom will come from the UK. Lectures and seminars take place in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, Durham University.

Generic Participants
Speakers include:
Kai-Uwe Bux
Dessislava Kochloukova
Jon McCammond
Justin Tatch Moore
Piotr Przytycki
Holger Reich
Prebends Bridge

This symposium will focus on recent developments in geometric and cohomological group theory, highlighting in particular the following topics: Artin groups; Thompson's group and generalizations; special cube complexes; the group theory surrounding the Farrell-Jones conjectures.

Note: The first talks will be on August 13 and the last ones on August 21.

Durham Univ Map
Travel Information

Useful information about travelling to Durham can be found on the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Durham University webpages.

Holgate House

Accommodation for participants will be in a Durham College. Guest rooms offer en-suite and internet facilities. Attendance is by invitation only and fees for self-supporting participants are payable by cash, credit card, sterling cheques or sterling travellers cheques at registration.

Organising Committee: Peter Kropholler (Southampton), Ian Leary (Southampton), Conchita Martinez-Perez (Zaragosa), Brita Nucinkis (Royal Holloway).