London Mathematical Society -- EPSRC Durham Symposium
Markov Processes, Mixing Times and Cutoff
26 July to 5 August 2017
Castle Keep

The LMS-EPSRC Durham Research Symposia began in 1974, and form an established series of international research meetings, with over 100 symposia to date. They provide an excellent opportunity to explore an area of research in depth, to learn of new developments, and to instigate links between different branches. The format is designed to allow substantial time for interaction and research. The meetings are held in July and August, usually lasting for 10 days, with up to 70 participants, roughly half of whom will come from the UK. Lectures and seminars take place in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, Durham University.

Generic Participants
Speakers include:
Prebends Bridge

The symposium will explore the recent progress and discuss new challenges in the theory of Markov processes and its applications. The main focus of the meeting will be on mixing and convergence to equilibrium, the cutoff phenomenon, quasi-stationarity, and Markov Chain Monte Carlo. The scientific programme of the symposium will combine a series of short courses given by leading experts in the field, a number of selected talks by participants, and provide opportunity for informal and structured discussion sessions. There will be an industrial afternoon, to which practitioners from Public Health England will be invited.

Note: The scientific programme will provisionally start on the morning of July 27 and finish in the afternoon of August 4.

Durham Univ Map
Travel Information

Useful information about travelling to Durham can be found on the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Durham University webpages.

Holgate House

Accommodation for participants will be in Grey College. Guest rooms offer en-suite and internet facilities. Attendance is by invitation only and fees for self-supporting participants are payable by cash, credit card, sterling cheques or sterling travellers cheques at registration.

Organising Committee: Stephen Connor (York), Ostap Hryniv (Durham), Wilfrid Kendall (Warwick), Malwina Luczak (Queen Mary), Andrew Wade (Durham)